High-quality, high-resolution image delivered by the GR 18.3mm F2.8 lens

The GR II features a compact, high-performance GR lens with a focal length of 28mm (in the 35mm format). This lens incorporates two high-precision aspherical optical elements and a high-refraction, lower-dispersion glass element to minimize distortions and chromatic aberration, while reproducing sharp, high-contrast images even at edges of the image field. Thanks to its 9 blade iris diaphragm, the lens creates a truthful sense of depth and a natural bokeh effect, while allowing the user to capture beautiful light beams at closed-down apertures. The manually adjustable ND (neutral density) filter allows you to open the aperture up, even under bright sunshine, for a wider range of creative expression.

Large image sensor and GR ENGINE V, with upgraded AWB control and high sensitivity noise compensation

Featuring a large, APS-C-size CMOS image sensor with approximately 16.2 effective megapixels, the GR II provides a top sensitivity of ISO 25600. By reprogramming the AWB algorithm, it assures more precise white-balance control under artificial lighting such as fluorescent lights, while reducing the colour bleeding of green hues in outdoor shooting.

Built-in Wi-Fi and NFC functionality

The GR II comes equipped with Wi-Fi functions for wireless connection with mobile devices such as smartphones and tablet computers. It is also compatible with NFC (Near Field Communication) functions for easy pairing with mobile devices. The GR II provides two types of applications: GR Remote for easy setting of various commands using a mobile device’s screen, just like on the camera’s LCD panel; and Image Sync for easy transfer and browsing of recorded images using a mobile device.

High-speed shooting operation to capture critical shutter chances

The GR II’s high-speed AF system captures a subject in focus in a mere 0.2 seconds,* thanks to the optimization of its lens drive mechanism and AF algorithm and the high-speed readout of image data obtained by the image sensor. Start-up time is only one second, and the GR II’s AF Continuous Shooting function captures a series of photos at a maximum speed of approximately four images per second, allowing capture of fast-moving subjects, such as athletes and wildlife, all in incredibly sharp focus. Thanks to its increased buffer memory capacity, it continuously captures as many as 10 images in a single sequence during RAW-format shooting.

* Measured in compliance to CIPA standards.

Pocket-sized body to enhance operability and portability

Even though it incorporates a host of Wi-Fi functions, the GR II comes in the same size as the GR. Its exterior housing is made of lightweight, high-rigidity magnesium alloy. The body is designed for maximum holding comfort and operational ease, with all control buttons laid out for easy access and shooting convenience.

Six effect modes newly added to expand creative options

The GR II provides a total of 17 effect modes, which allow the user to apply a variety of image processing within the camera to create the desired visual expression. Including Clarity and Brilliance, six modes have been newly added to the selection, allowing the user to adjust some parameters to the desired level. The user can set the desired mode simply by pushing the Effect button on the camera’s side panel.

A full range of shooting functions

The GR II provides an in-camera RAW data development function. After shooting RAW-format images, the user can adjust a variety of parameters within the camera, and output them as JPEG-format image files. The GR II now offers a choice between Normal and Original modes for the peripheral brightness level setting. Also included in the GR II is the new CTE (Colour Temperature Enhancement) mode for white-balance control, making it possible to emphasize a predominant colour within the image, such as the red in sunset scenes. The GR II also features the PENTAX-original Shutter speed/Aperture Priority (TAv) exposure mode, featured only in PENTAX-brand digital SLR cameras. This innovative mode automatically sets the optimum ISO sensitivity based on the shutter speed and aperture selected by the photographer.

Wireless Flash Function

The GR II comes equipped with wireless flash functionality. By selecting wireless flash, the built-in flash can trigger external PENTAX flashes as a slave for creative portable lighting control in the studio or out on the streets.

* Compatible accessory flash units are the PENTAX AF540FGZ II, AF360FGZ II, AF540FGZ and AF360FGZ.

Full HD movie recording for high-quality, extended movie clips

The GR II captures beautiful Full HD movie clips (1920 x 1080 pixels, 16:9 ratio, 30 frame rate) in the H-264 recording format. By teaming this function with the GR lens and the large image sensor, the GR II assures high-quality movies. During movie recording, the user can also adjust exposure compensation and use the AF button to activate the AF operation, whose speed is faster than before. Three new effect modes (Bright, Portrait and Vibrant) can also be used in movie shooting.

Other features

  • Built-in non-directional stereo microphone
  • Crop mode* to capture an image at a 35mm or 47mm angle of view (in the 35mm format)
  • Chromatic Moiré Correction function
  • Pixel Mapping function featured for the first time in a GR-Series model
  • GW-3 Wide Conversion Lens (optional accessory) expands the angle of view to 21mm ultra-wide angle
  • Digital Camera Utility 5, the latest utility software compatible with the GR II, included
* The size of recorded pixels is fixed at M for the 35mm setting, or at S for the 47mm setting.

Page top

Optique 18,3 mm f/2,8 assure des images de haute résolution et de qualité

Le GR II est doté d'un objectif compact ultra performant d'une focale de 28 mm (au format 35 mm). Cet objectif intègre deux lentilles optiques asphériques de haute précision et une autre à indice de réfraction élevé servant à minimiser les distorsions et les aberrations chromatiques et créer des images contrastées et nettes sur tout le champ de vision. Grâce à son diaphragme à 9 lamelles, l'objectif offre un véritable sens de profondeur et un effet de flou artistique naturel tout en permettant à l'utilisateur de capturer de beaux rayons de lumière à petite ouverture. Le filtre ND (densité neutre) réglable manuellement permet une ouverture plus grande même en plein soleil pour plus de possibilités créatives.

Grand capteur d'image et processeur GR ENGINE V pour un meilleur contrôle de la balance des blancs et du bruit à haute sensibilité.

Doté d'un grand capteur CMOS de format APS-C de 16,2 Mégapixels, le GR II offre une sensibilité maximale de 25600 ISO. En reprogrammant l'algorithme pour la balance des blancs, il assure un contrôle plus précis de celle-ci sous éclairage artificiel tel que la lumière fluorescente tout en réduisant les reflets de vert dans les photos de nature.

Fonctionnalités Wi-Fi et NFC intégrées

Le GR II est équipé d'office des fonctions Wi-Fi assurant une connexion sans fil avec téléphones intelligents et tablettes. Il est aussi compatible avec les fonctions NFC (Near Field Communication) pour un arrimage simplifié avec les appareils mobiles. Le GR II procure deux types d'applications: Télécommande GR pour réglage facile des divers paramètres à l'aide d'un écran d'appareil mobile, tout comme l'écran ACL de la caméra; et Synchro Image pour le transfert facile des images enregistrées et la navigation à l'aide d'un appareil mobile.

Prise de vue haute vitesse utile pour occasions uniques

L'autofocus haute vitesse du GR II ne met que 0,2 seconde* pour saisir le sujet grâce à l'optimisation de son mécanisme d'entrainement des lentilles, son algorithme AF et la haute vitesse de lecture des données de l'image provenant du capteur. Le délai de mise en train est d'une seconde seulement et le mode AF continu du GR II permet des séquences photo à une cadence pouvant atteindre quatre images/s pour capturer des sujets en déplacement tels que des athlètes et la faune sauvage, toutes avec une mise au point irréprochable. Grâce à sa mémoire tampon de plus grande capacité, il capture en continu jusqu'à 10 images dans une seule séquence pendant la prise de vue en format RAW.

* Mesuré selon les normes CIPA.

Format de poche pour une plus grande portabilité

Même s'il renferme une série de fonctions Wi-Fi, le GR II est de taille identique au GR. Sa coquille extérieure est faite d'un alliage de magnésium léger de haute rigidité. Le boîtier est conçu pour un confort maximum lors de la prise en main et de la manipulation avec toutes les commandes facilement accessibles et disposées pour permettre de photographier d'une seule main.

Six modes d'effets ajoutés pour plus d'options créatives

Le GR II offre au total 17 modes d'effet qui permettent à l'utilisateur d'appliquer divers effets directement dans l'appareil pour créer l'expression visuelle voulue. Six modes dont Clarté et Brillance ont été ajoutés à la sélection et permettent à l'utilisateur d'ajuster certains paramètres au niveau voulu. L'utilisateur peut sélectionner le mode désiré simplement en poussant la touche Effet sur le côté de l'appareil.

Gamme complète de fonctions de prise de vue

Le GR II procure une fonction de développement des données RAW en appareil. Suite à l'enregistrement d'images de format RAW, l'utilisateur peut ajuster plusieurs paramètres directement dans l'appareil et en fournir des fichiers d'image de format JPEG. Le GR II offre maintenant le choix entre les modes Normal et Original pour le réglage du niveau de luminosité périphérique. On retrouve aussi dans le GR II le nouveau mode CTE (Rehaussement de la Température de la couleur) pour le contrôle de la balance des blancs, ce qui permet de mettre l'accent sur une couleur prédominante dans l'image comme le rouge dans les scènes de coucher de soleil. Le GR II affiche aussi le mode d'exposition TAv (Priorité Vitesse/Ouverture) exclusif à PENTAX dans ses modèles reflex. Ce mode novateur sélectionne automatiquement la sensibilité ISO optimum en fonction de la vitesse d'obturation et de l'ouverture sélectionnées par le photographe.

Fonction Flash sans fil

Le GR II intègre la fonction flash sans fil. En sélectionnant flash sans fil, le flash intégré peut activer des flashs PENTAX asservis pour un contrôle d'éclairage créatif portable en studio comme dans la rue.

* Flashs accessoires compatibles sont les PENTAX AF540FGZ II, AF360FGZ II, AF540FGZ et AF360FGZ.

Enregistrement vidéo pleine HD pour clips de haute qualité

Le GR II peut enregistrer de beaux clips vidéo en Pleine HD (1920 x 1080 pixels, format 16:9, 30 images/s) au format H-264. En combinant cette fonction avec l'objectif GR et le grand capteur d'image, le GR II est capable d'une très haute qualité vidéo. Pendant l'enregistrement vidéo, l'utilisateur peut aussi ajuster la correction d'exposition et utiliser la touche AF pour activer l'autofocus dont la vitesse est plus grande. Trois nouveaux modes Effet (Brillant, Portrait et Éclatant) peuvent aussi être utilisés en vidéo.

Autres caractéristiques

  • Microphone stéréo non-directionnel intégré
  • Mode recadrage* pour capturer une image à un angle de vue de 35 mm ou 47 mm (au format 35 mm)
  • Fonction de compensation du moiré chromatique
  • Fonction Pixel Mapping présente pour la première fois sur un modèle de la série GR
  • Convertisseur grand-angle GW-3 (optionnel) élargit l'angle de vision à un ultra grand angle de 21 MM.
  • Inclut l'application Digital Camera Utility 5, le plus récent logiciel utilitaire compatible avec le GR II
* Le format des pixels enregistrés est fixé à M pour le réglage 35 mm ou à S pour le réglage 47 mm.